Checklist FSW

Composition of PhD Committees (graduation formalities)

PhD Regulations 2024

Doctorate Committee (Promotie Commissie) (PhD Regulations 2024, art. 25)

- 5 or 6 members, incl. Chair (Scientific Director of the Institute; if the Scientific Director is supervisor or active member him-/herself, the Dean of the Faculty will be Chair)
- Secretary is a Leiden professor or UHD with ius promovendi
- The other members may be professors whose ius promovendi has not yet expired at the time of the defence, or other members of the academic staff with a doctorate degree affiliated to an institute for academic research or education
- The majority of the members of the Committee will be professors
- At least two members of the Committee should not be involved in the realisation of the dissertation
- At least two members of the Committee should not be appointed at FSW
- The Committee includes at least one male and at least one female member
- <u>The following persons may not be appointed</u>: (co-)supervisors, the partner of the PhD candidate, a blood relative or first- or second-degree relative of the candidate, or other persons whose relationship to the candidate precludes them from assessing the candidate; the partner of the supervisor or co-supervisor or a committee member, a blood relative or first- or second-degree relative of the supervisor or co-supervisor or a committee member or other persons whose relationship to the supervisor or co-supervisor or a committee member or other persons whose relationship to the supervisor or co-supervisor or a committee member precludes them from assessing the dissertation.

Examining Committee (Oppositie Commissie) (PhD Regulations 2024, art. 28)

- Apart from the Chair/Pro-rector as a substitute , the Examining Committee consists of at least four members, including the members of the Doctorate Committee
- The Office of the Beadle invites a Chair/ Pro-rector as a substitute
- The Secretary is a professor of FSW or UHD with ius promovendi
- The majority of the members must be professors
- All members must hold a **doctorate degree**
- The Committee includes at least one female and at least one male member
- The **majority of the members** (incl. Chair) must be **appointed at Leiden University** (incl. LUMC)
- <u>The following persons may not be appointed</u>: (co-)supervisors, the partner of the PhD candidate, a blood relative or first- or second-degree relative of the candidate, or other persons whose relationship to the candidate precludes them from assessing the candidate; the partner of the supervisor or co-supervisor or a committee member, a blood relative or first- or second-degree relative of the supervisor or co-supervisor or a committee member precludes them from assessing the dissertation.

The Doctorate Board (College voor Promoties) has decided that there should be overlap between the Doctorate Committee and the Examining Committee, but that the committees should not be identical either. If possible, the Examining Committee should be expanded to include some additional members for the defence. If you wish to deviate from this rule, please submit a request for exception to the dean via the Graduate School Officer Ina Schabram (GS-office@fsw.leidenuniv.nl).

For questions on the composition of the committees, please contact Anita Nieuwenhuizen/Graduate School Office FSW (<u>GS-Office@FSW.leidenuniv.nl</u>).